Some events burn themselves into your memory. And rightly so. Here’s what happened:

Me and two friends were sitting at a bar in Oslo. A rather drunk (Norwegian) guy sat down with us and started talking. Fair enough. We didn’t need the whole couch for ourselves. And we were just about to leave. We were only going to say hello to some friends of A first.

When they arrived, the conversation immediately switched to English. The drunk guy got very interested to know where they came from. It turned out they all came from Poland, including my friend A. What a luck! «I LOVE Polish people», exclaimed the man with a kind of enthusiasm only drunk people possess. «I mean, all you do for our country! I have great respect for it. I mean I really LOVE you!» Turned out he was thinking about carpentry and renovation. There was no end to the love he had for skillful craftsmen from Poland. He kept it going for a while, before he asked: «So what do you do in Norway?»

Highlight of all highlights.

One of the ladies replied: «I’m a master student of international and comparative education.» The next lady replied: «I got a master degree in chemistry, and I’m part of a research group within the field.» One of the men said: «I’m doing a ph.d. thesis on reduced density matrix inspired approaches to electronic structure theory». And the lest man presented himself as an architecht.

Let’s add that A is a several time Norwegian champion within her field of sports. And let’s also add, that the Norwegian guy had only a high school education and was working as a photographer. O, what a wonderful facial expression. Well, that was the man who loved Polish people.

Legg igjen en kommentar